Chocolate Lava Cakes – Diabetic Friendly?

Image

Now I know what you’re thinking, chocolate and diabetes don’t mix. For the most part that is true, however there is a saying that says: “Enjoy everything in moderation” and I am a firm believer in this. As long as you have an active lifestyle and a decent diet I’d say you can enjoy these. Just don’t have them every week! I recommend choosing a really dark chocolate for this, at least 70% cocoa solids. Because of the chocolate this can be a little more expensive than my previous recipes.

This serves two people

Ingredients:

You will need:

  • 100 g Plain Chocolate broken into pieces (70% approx)
  • Fresh Pouring Cream to serve
  • 55 g Butter
  • 2 Eggs separated
  • 55 g  Caster Sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas 4.
  2. Generously butter 2 pudding basins or ramekins.
  3. Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water.
  4. Remove from the heat and whisk in the remaining 40g of the butter until melted.
  5. Set aside.
  6. Place the egg whites in a bowl and whisk until stiff peaks have formed.
  7. Whisk in half of the sugar, a third at a time, whisking well after each addition until stiff and very shiny.
  8. In a separate bowl, beat the remaining sugar and egg yolks until pale and fluffy, then beat into the cooled chocolate mixture.
  9. Fold in the meringue and use to fill the prepared cups two-thirds full.
  10. Arrange on a baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes until well risen but still with a slight wobble in the middle.
  11. Serve as is or  with a spoon of Ice Cream. (A Small scoop now!)

Enjoy!

And as always, thanks for reading.

Luke

About Luke Moore

Hi I'm Luke. I am 19 and am currently studying Computing in Cork Institute of Technology. I was required to write a blog for my Web Publishing Module. Because I have Type 1 Diabetes and a student I chose this topic. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment